I do have some animals in captivity news and I was going to get to that before this subject, but sometimes it’s easier to get the littler stuff out of the way first.

I’ve made my eBook “Bad Moon Rising” free to libraries and librarians. If you know one who’d like a book for teenage boy readers, let me know or give them this website: http://www.reid1000.com to contact me.

Chango’s Beads and Two Tone Shoes  by William Kennedy.

 Really loved this book. The guy’s a great writer and he puts his main character, a writer whose grandfather was a writer, into some interesting places: as a child in Albany NY catching an impromptu concert by Bing Crosby; as a young man in Havana Cuba on the eve of Baptiste’s overthrow by Fidel; back in Albany as an established journalist on the night of RFK’s murder.

 I’ve read that Wm Kennedy has done lots of writing about Albany and its seedy political underbelly, and I’m definitely going to read much more about it — this book was outstanding.

 Rin Tin Tin by Susan Orlean

 This is a bio of the original RTT, his owner, and all the others that helped bring his legend to movies and television. Most of the bio is interesting, but where Ms. Orlean injects her own experiences — love of the dog as a child; going to France to locate where RTT’s first owner found him; etc – the story bogs down a lot. I don’t know about other readers but I’m just not that interested in Susan Orlean. She does do a great job of investigating the ins and outs of RTT and his owners and offspring, though, and it’s a good story even if I skimmed much of the boring details.

Explosive Eighteen by Janet Evanovich

Great to get back to Evanovich’s star Stephanie Plum every once in a while. I think I’ve only read three books total, but she’s lots of fun and the offbeat characters JE creates are even more fun. Gotta love Lula, big Momma type who knows who she is and what she wants, and the latter is often three dripping cheeseburgers and some lovin’. Good for you, Janet, we need more laughs in our literature.

Steve Reid Sr.websites:

book: http://www.snowmobilewerewolf.com

music/photos: http://www.reid1000.com

